• Services
  • Forms
  • All of Pershing County NV


No keywords found. Use a different keyword or click on the All of Pershing County NV tab…


All of Pershing County NV

Second Directive of the Pershing County Commissioners Regarding COVID-19

Download Directive as PDF

Resolution 20-03-03
Declaration of Emergency
Directive 02

WHEREAS, on March 20, 2020, and in accordance with NRS Chapter 414 and Pershing County Code 2.08.04, the Pershing County Board of Commissioners issued a Declaration of Emergency to facilitate the County’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic;

WHEREAS, in an effort to minimize opportunities for COVID-19 to spread among Nevadans, Nevada Governor, Steve Sisolak, ordered the closure of non-essential businesses, directed Nevadans to implement physical distancing measures, and implemented a stay-at-home order; and

WHEREAS, Pershing County implemented aggressive policies to reduce the transmission of COVID-19, and through the collective efforts of Pershing County residents, there are zero (0) cases of Covid-19 in Pershing County;

WHEREAS, emergency management professionals, healthcare professionals, law enforcement, and healthcare providers in Pershing County are prepared to address the presence and transmission of COVID-19 in the County; and

WHEREAS, the prospects of individual and community testing, treatments, and vaccines are rapidly improving, and while the possibility exists for transmission of COVID-19, appropriate response systems are in place; and

WHEREAS, in recognition of state-wide restrictions ordered by Governor Sisolak, and after considering the expert opinions of emergency management professionals, public health professionals, law enforcement, and healthcare providers, the following approach is necessary to cope with and respond to the emergency; and

NOW THEREFORE, pursuant to the March 20, 2020, Emergency Declaration, the Pershing County Board of Commissioners ORDERS AS FOLLOWS:

SECTION 1: The March 20, 2020 Declaration of Emergency is hereby extended until further order of the Pershing County Board of Commissioners.  All directives and orders within that Declaration shall remain in force while the Declaration of Emergency is in effect, unless specifically terminated by a subsequent order.

SECTION 2:  County employees will return to regular schedules on May 4, 2020. Elected and Non-elected Department Heads are authorized to develop methods and procedures to minimize contact among individuals, while continuing to provide essential services. 

SECTION  3: The Recycling Center shall resume operations, with strict adherence to social distancing guidelines and gathering limitations.

SECTION 4: County boards shall resume regularly scheduled meetings, with strict adherence to social distancing guidelines and gathering limitations of no more than 10 people.   

 SECTION 5: Pershing County Community Centers, the Marzen House, the Pershing County Library, and the Senior Center will remain closed. Meals to seniors will continue to be prepared and delivered as needed.  

SECTION 6: Non-essential travel for County related business remains prohibited.

SECTION 7: Individual responsibility such as practicing good hygiene, maintaining appropriate social distancing, wearing masks in public, and avoiding non-essential travel remain the best tools to combat transmission of COVID-19. The easing of restrictions and resumption of regular work schedules and meetings must occur under these protective measures.

SECTION 8: This Directive is effective on May 4, 2020 and shall remain effective until modified, renewed, or rescinded by a subsequent Directive promulgated pursuant to the March 20, 2020 Declaration of Emergency.  

This Directive is adopted this 27th day of April, 2020.  


                                                                                    Carol Shank, Chair



                                                                                    Larry Rackley, Vice Chair



                                                                                    Robert McDougal, Commissioner





County Clerk